In 2011, I took a leap of faith. Sixteen years into a successful teaching career, I decided to give myself a sabbatical and go back to graduate school for a second master’s degree. I always promised myself that I wouldn’t become a jaded, burned-out remnant of the idealist that put two Duke degrees to work teaching social studies in a public high school. So when I recognized that I had mastered the content knowledge for my job to such an extent that it was no longer intellectually challenging for me, I knew that I needed to broaden my horizons. I always incorporated primary source documents into my teaching as a means of hooking teenagers into learning history. Plus a number of the professional development activities with which I filled my summers as a teacher involved conducting research at archives, and this exposure convinced me it would be intriguing to learn more about the organization and operation of these institutions. So I enrolled in the School of Information and Library Science at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and determined to pursue a concentration in archives and records management. Having completed my MSLS degree in May 2013, I am beginning this blog as a way to document my discoveries along with my questions. Join me for the rest of the journey!

